Register

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    21

    Wifi and battery issue

    Hi All,

    This is a little strange and wanted to see if someone can fill me on this.. I set a DHCP reservation for the nest on the router and everything looks good meaning from my laptop to the nest the ping replies are perfect no loss. I am getting about 1 to 2 ms response time..

    The thing that is bothering me is that when nest screen is on the nest is accessible via the web meaning that the ping response time go a high. Once the screen turns off into power saving mode the ping response from the laptop to the nest may drop about 3 to 4 pings then return with no time outs and work fine with replies.

    Also when I was troubling shooting with customer service couple days back they has me reboot the nest and do a couple hard reset. the battery is currently at 3.86 3.87. Do you think this is what is causing the nest to act like this.. I do have a common wire on there. Not when I shut the wireless off and I look after about 15 minutes or so I do see that the battery is charging by it going up to 3.92 and so on.

    What do you think could be the issue..

    I am getting ping responses from the laptop to the nest no problem when the screen is off and when I go the web it is not update and sometimes there is a ?. I am all confused now..

    When it calls for heat it is updating so its not like its completely dead in the water just not turning the screen on when I change the temp online like it did before. Not sure why



    Thanks for your help once again.

  2. #2
    HVAC Thermostat Specialist
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    377
    Are you 100% sure the common is connected on furnace side?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by Servicetech View Post
    Are you 100% sure the common is connected on furnace side?
    Yes i am.. I worked with the customer service rep to connect both ends. I had a extra blue wire so i connect this to the C terminal on the gas furnace board and then on the nest i connected to the c terminal and confirmed it on the equipment and it shows up as 24v common wire.

  4. #4
    HVAC Thermostat Specialist
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    377
    Are you certain there are no splices in the thermostat wire? I've seen where HVAC contractors will only splice the 4 wires they need and leave the blue disconnected. Have you confirmed 24v between Red and Common at the thermostat backplate?

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Advertising positioning by Digital Point
All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:10 AM.
vBulletin 4.0 skin by CompleteVB